• Free Initial Consultation
  • Available 24/7
  • We Accept all Major Credit Cards
  • Jersey City Office
  • Mountainside Office
Se Habla Español

Jersey City Office

phone

Ask a Question

The Law Offices of Proetta & Oliver

Hudson County

Criminal Defense Lawyer

"We have successfully defended our clients against thousands of Criminal, DWI, and Municipal Court charges throughout Hudson County and New Jersey."

- William A. Proetta, Esq.

Schedule a ConsultationTap to Call

Belleville Assault Defense Lawyers

18 January, 2015
By admin
0 comments

Belleville NJ Simple Assault Attorney

If you get into a physical altercation with someone in Belleville, New Jersey, then chances are you will be charged with a disorderly persons offense known as Simple Assault under 2C:12-1(a). These charges are common because they cover a broad range of conduct including, pushing, slapping, spitting or even a pretend punch. Simple assault is commonly the result of a domestic violence incident, dispute with a neighbor, and bar fights. All simple assault charges are handled in Belleville Municipal Court and a defendant can face up to 6 months in county jail, if convicted. At the Law of William A. Proetta, our attorney are experienced in handling simple assault charges and related crimes such as Harassment. By challenging the State’s case against you, we are often able to secure a downgrade to a municipal ordinance or a dismissal altogether. To learn more about how we may be able to help you or your loved one, contact our office at (201) 793-8018 today to speak with a criminal defense attorney during a free consultation.

Aggravated Assault Lawyer in Belleville

Under certain circumstances, a simple assault charge can be upgraded to the more severe crime of Aggravated Assault, under 2C:12-1(b), which is an indictable crime. All indictable crimes will be handled in the Essex County Superior Court. Circumstances that can lead to an upgrade of aggravated assault include whether a weapon was used during the assault, if the victim was a police officer, or if the victim suffered a significant injury such as a broken nose. These facts also determine the degree of the aggravated assault crime which can range from fourth degree to second degree. In order to give some perspective, a 4th degree indictable crime is punishable by up to 18 months in prison, a 3rd degree is punishable by 3 – 5 years in prison, and a 2nd degree aggravated assault carries a sentence of 5 – 10 years of incarceration, if you are convicted. These charges are obviously serious and require the assistance of an experienced criminal attorney. Our attorneys are often able to secure our clients charged with aggravated assault, a downgrade or admittance into Pre-Trial Intervention which results in a dismissal upon completion. If you or a loved one has been charged with aggravated assault or a related crime, contact our office today to speak with an experienced criminal attorney who can answer your questions and address your concerns during a free consultation.

Comments (0)

Comments are closed.