Union City writes the second highest amount of DWI charges in Hudson County, New Jersey. A DUI charge in New Jersey is very serious and can be tough to fight, especially without knowledge of how the court system handles these offenses. New Jersey puts a strict timeline of 60 days for these charges to be resolved and does not allow a jury trial or any plea bargaining so your only option is to successfully fight the State’s case against you. Because most of these cases hinge on substantive and procedural technicalities, an experienced DWI defense attorney can make the difference between winning and losing. As the firm’s founding attorney, Will Proetta, has invested a large of his practice and time to DUI defense to help ensure that his skills and knowledge are well beyond the average defense lawyer. This includes becoming certified by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration as an Instructor for Standard Field Sobriety Testing used in New Jersey and being trained by the inventor of the Alcotest (New Jersey’s breathalyzer) as a certified operator of the Alcotest machine. This level of training is matched by few defense lawyers in the state and allows our firm to catch and exploit issues in our client’s cases that often lead to the breath readings being suppressed or a dismissal of the DWI altogether.
If you have been charged or arrest for DWI in Union City, contact our Jersey City office today to speak with an experienced DUI defense attorney at (201) 793-8018 for a free initial consultation.
Union City New Jersey Municipal Court
Your DWI case will be heard at the Union City Municipal Court normally within 60 days of the allege violation. The pertinent information for the Union City Municipal Court has been provided below for your convenience.
|Municipal Court location: 3715 Palisade Avenue, Union City, NJ07087|
Hours of Operation: Monday thru Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Judge: Honorable Lilia A. Munoz, JMC
Jurisdiction: DWI, disorderly persons offenses, municipal ordinances, traffic violations
Contact: Telephone (201) 392-3663; Fax
Court Administrator: Luisa F. Del Nodal
DUI Defense Attorney in Union City
The penalties for a conviction for even a first offense DWI in New Jersey can be severe and long lasting. Below we have listed some of the mandatory penalties for your convenience. It should be noted that the DMV insurance surcharges listed below are in addition to any increase from your car insurance company.
BAC .08% – .09% penalties
BAC is 0.10%, and over penalties:
All suspensions are mandatory because New Jersey does not provide for form of hardship of work license like many surrounding states. If you have been charged with a DUI in Union City contact our office, located in Jersey City, to speak with an experienced DWI lawyer for a free initial consultation at (201) 793-8018.