West New York NJ Simple Assault Lawyer
Simple assault is one of the most common criminal charges that we handle in New Jersey. This is predominantly because the language of the simple assault statute is so broad that covers a wide range of acts. Moreover, simple assault can often be alcohol-involved such as a bar fight or the result of a domestic violence incident which can include harassment or terroristic threats. Proetta & Oliver is a Hudson County law firm which defends clients who have been charged with simple assault and related charges such as disorderly conduct and resisting arrest. We represent individuals throughout New Jersey, including in Weehawken, Bloomfield, North Bergen, Newark, Secaucus and Belleville. Because simple assault is a violent crime, New Jersey takes it very seriously and, if convicted, you can be punished by probation, community service, and jail time. Therefore, it is important that you have the representation of an experienced assault lawyer. The law firm’s founding attorney, Will Proetta, Esq., has successfully handled thousands of criminal and municipal cases throughout his career. We know the courts and we know how the system works. If you would like to learn more about how we can help you, then call our Jersey City office today for a free initial consultation at (201) 793-8018.
New Jersey Simple Assault Law under N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1
Simple assault is a criminal offense in New Jersey and is governed by N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1, which provides in pertinent part that:
A person is guilty of a simple assault if he or she:
(1) Attempts to cause or purposely, knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another; or
(2) Negligently causes bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon; or
(3) Attempts by physical menace to put another in fear of imminent serious bodily injury.
Charged with Simple Assault in Jersey City
As seen in the above statute, simple assault does not require actual injury to the victim or that the injury was done intentional – a common misconception. In New Jersey, simple assault is considered a disorderly persons offense, also referred to as a misdemeanor. A disorderly persons offense is punishable by up to 6 months in the county jail and a $1,000 fine. Additional penalties can include anger management counseling, community service and thousands in restitution for the victim’s damages. It is common for a simple assault charge to be upgraded to an Aggravated Assault crime if the victim’s injuries are serious, a deadly weapon was used, or if the victim is a police officer. If you or a loved one has been charged with simple assault in Hudson County, including Kearny, Harrison, West New York, Guttenberg, Union City or Bayonne then please take advantage of this opportunity to contact an experienced simple assault lawyer at (201) 793-8018 for a free initial consultation.