Jersey City NJ Invasion of Privacy Lawyer
The number of criminal charges for invasion of privacy in New Jersey has steadily increased over the last decade. This is primarily due to the widespread expansion of social media and cell phones with cameras or video recorders. Now anyone with a camera phone can easily record a person in an awkward or uncomfortable position. The statute for invasion of privacy covers many different circumstances but most of the cases we see involve ex-lovers sending and posting explicit pictures or videos of one another on social media without the others’ permission. It is important to note that just because they had permission to film or photograph the person originally does not mean they can share it with others after the fact. No matter what the circumstances, if you have been charged with invasion of privacy you should contact an experienced criminal defense attorney to defend you today. To learn more about how we can help, contact us today for a free consultation.
What is Invasion of Privacy?
Invasion of privacy is a law in New Jersey that is found under our criminal code statute 2C:14-9. The statute for invasion of privacy covers several different circumstances. For instances, if someone is outside a dressing room with the purpose to peak in and watch another changing and exposing their intimate parts then it is a fourth degree crime of invasion of privacy. However, if you take the same situation and record the person without their permission while they are exposing their intimate parts or engaging in a sexual act then it is upgraded to a third degree crime of invasion of privacy. Moreover, you can also be charged with a third degree invasion of privacy even if you had permission to record the person’s intimate parts of them during a sexual act but then disclosed or showed the video or photos to others without their permission.
What Are The Penalties for Invasion of Privacy
An offense for invasion of privacy is always charged as an indictable crime or felony that will be handled by the County Prosecutor’s Office at the County Superior Court. However, the gradation of the crime and potential punishments can vary greatly depending on the facts of your case. For your reading convenience, we have broken down the different kinds of invasion of privacy offenses and the corresponding punishments.
|Circumstances||Degree of Crime||Possible Punishments|
|Purposefully watches another under circumstances where they are likely expose intimate parts or engage in a sexual act||4th Degree Indictable Crime||Up to 18 months in state prison and a fine up to $10,000|
|Records or photographs another nude or engaging in a sexual act without their permission||3rd Degree Indictable Crime||Up to 3 – 5 years in state prison and fines up to $15,000|
|Discloses or shares nude or sexual photos/videos of another without their permission||3rd Degree Indictable Crime||Up to 3 – 5 years in state prison and fines doubled up to $30,000|
Invasion of Privacy in Hudson County, NJ
As you can see from above, invasion of privacy is a serious offense in New Jersey and requires the help of a serious lawyer. Based on the circumstances that normally give rise to these charges, it is not uncommon to see invasion of privacy in many domestic violence cases where a person is charged with harassment, stalking or a violation of a restraining order after sharing pictures of videos of their ex without their permission. Our attorneys will review the circumstances of your case to strategize and help develop different potential defenses that could result in a downgrade or dismissal of your charges. If you are interested in learning more about how we may be able to help you after being charged with a crime of invasion of privacy or a related charge, then contact us today at (201) 793-8018 for a free consultation.