Chat with us, powered by LiveChat
jersey city office (201) 793-8018

free consultation 24/7

all credit cards accepted

Sex Crimes & Public Indecency

We have successfully defended our clients against thousands of Criminal, DWI, and Municipal Court charges throughout Hudson County and New Jersey.

free consultation

Union City Sexual Assault Lawyer

Due to the serious nature of sex crimes, New Jersey holds them in a category all their own and the County Prosecutor’s Office typically has a specific trial team dedicated to handling these cases. No other criminal charges are more taboo or bring up as strong feelings and emotion as sex-related crimes. The victims of these cases are typically wide deference on their testimony and stance regarding prosecution of the alleged offender. This is why sex crimes and typically prosecuted to the fullest extent under law. Moreover, once you have been accused of a sex crime there is often a strong sense of judgment from people around you that you are in fact guilty before you ever even have your day in court. At Proetta & Oliver, our criminal defense attorneys are experienced in handling sex crimes in New Jersey and understand the emotional toll it can take on everyone involved and the complicated nature of their defense. If you would like to learn more about our potential services, contact our local Jersey City office today at (201) 793-8018 for a free consultation with an experienced lawyer who can answer your questions and address your concerns.

What Are Considered Sex Crimes in New Jersey?

Our attorneys regularly represent both adults and juvenile defendants in Hudson County New Jersey and surrounding areas. For your convenience, we have listed different types of sex crimes we handle and related information.

What Determines the Degree of a Sex Crime Charge in NJ?

In general, the term “sex crime” refers to any offense that involves sexual activity. Sex crime charges can include disorderly persons offenses like lewdness or harassment, fourth degree criminal sexual contact, third degree aggravated criminal sexual contact, third degree endangering the welfare of a child, second degree endangering the welfare of a child, second degree sexual assault, and first degree aggravated sexual assault.

If you are charged with a sex crime in New Jersey, the degree of the offense will depend on the details of your actions, the age of the victim, and your relationship to the victim. For example, the difference between second degree sexual assault and first degree aggravated assault is that aggravated assault is charged when additional factors exist beyond the circumstances that constitute sexual assault.

Specifically, sexual assault can be charged if you are more than 17 years old and you have sexual contact with someone younger than 13, sexual contact is combined with physical force, you have a position of trust and control over the victim, or the victim is between 13 and 16 years old and you are at least 4 years older than the victim. You can be charged with first degree aggravated assault if the victim is under 13 years of age, the victim is between 13 and 16 years old and you are a family member or have a position of trust and control over the victim, you commit sexual assault while threatening the victim with a weapon, you use force against the victim with the help of an accomplice, or you commit sexual assault against a person who is handicapped or incapacitated.

For each sex crime, New Jersey lists specific elements that the prosecution must prove beyond a reasonable doubt. As in the example of the different between second degree sexual assault and first degree aggravated sexual assault, higher degree sex crimes typically involve a higher level of danger, violence, or morally objectionable conduct.

Jersey City Sex Crimes Attorney

As illustrated by the above list, there many types of sex crimes which differ widely in seriousness and potential consequences depending on the surrounding circumstances. For instance, the alleged victim’s age, mental capacity, or physical disability may determine that the charges be upgraded to a more serious indictable crime. Moreover, certain sex crime convictions carry a mandatory requirement of Megan’s Law registration (also known Parole Supervision for Life) where you would have to register as a sex offender and that information could be given out to the public. These potential consequences can often make an already very difficult situation feel overwhelming. This is why it is our goal to provide every one of our clients who has been charged with a sex crime with complete confidentiality and respect as we work with them to protect their rights and achieve the best possible legal results. We are pleased to meet with prospective clients on nights and weekends by appointment. To meet with an experienced attorney for a free initial consultation, please call us at (201) 793-8018.