• Free Initial Consultation
  • Available 24/7
  • We Accept all Major Credit Cards
  • Jersey City Office
  • Mountainside Office
Se Habla EspaƱol

Jersey City Office

phone

Ask a Question

The Law Offices of Proetta & Oliver

Hudson County

Criminal Defense Lawyer

"We have successfully defended our clients against thousands of Criminal, DWI, and Municipal Court charges throughout Hudson County and New Jersey."

- William A. Proetta, Esq.

Schedule a ConsultationTap to Call

Kearny NJ Robbery Lawyers

12 January, 2015
By admin
0 comments

The New Jersey robbery statute under 2C:15-1 is punishable by 5 – 10 years in state prison for a second degree and if you are charged with a first degree crime of robbery, your exposure increases to 10 – 20 years. When most people think of a robbery, their automatic instinct is to think of bank robbers with guns like something from a scene in a movie. However, most robbery cases involve circumstances that are nothing like that. For instance, we typically represent clients who have been charged with robbery because they were caught shoplifting and pushed the security guard while trying to get away. Once force is used during the commission of a theft, the charges become a robbery.

Another common example is when two people fight and the winner takes the other person’s phone or wallet. While a fight will typically be considered a disorderly persons offense of Simple Assault, the charges can quickly upgrade to a second degree robbery once you try taking the victim’s personal property which can include something as meaningless as a baseball cap. If you or a loved one has been charged with robbery it is important you speak with an experienced robbery defense attorney who can answer your questions and explore your legal defenses. If you would like to learn more about how we may be able to help you or your loved one, contact us today at (201) 793-8018 for a free consultation.

Comments (0)

Comments are closed.