Overall, New Jersey takes DUI charges very seriously which is exhibited by a very aggressive and strict prosecution by the State. Some examples of this are that there is no trial by jury allowed, there is no plea bargaining allowed, license suspensions are mandatory and no work or hardship licenses are allowed. To add to the confusion and frustration, the Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) directs that DWI cases must be resolved within 60 days of the violation. This is a tough burden to meet both for the State and the defendant since these cases are normally by far the most complicated charges in the municipal court system. Because of these factors, hiring the right attorney can often mean the difference between guilty and not guilty. An experienced DUI attorney can exploit on nuances in law as well procedural technicalities and problems with the State’s case. As founding attorney, Will Proetta has handled hundreds of DWI cases and is certified by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration as an Instructor for Standard Field Sobriety Testing used in New Jersey and trained and certified by Draeger as an Alcotest operator, which is the breathalyzer used here in New Jersey. If you have or someone you know has been charged with driving while intoxicated, contact our Jersey City office today to speak with an experienced DWI defense attorney at (201) 793-8018 for a free initial consultation.
Arrested for DWI Kearny New Jersey
If you are charged with driving while intoxicated in Kearny then your case will most likely be heard in the Kearny Municipal Court located at 404 Kearny Avenue, 3 rd Fl., Kearny, NJ07032. Judge Norman A. Doyle, Jr. will preside over your DUI case and all related charges. Since there are no jury trials, it is the judge’s job to find if the municipal prosecutor and police meet their burden of proving the defendant’s intoxication and other elements of the charge beyond a reasonable doubt. Because DWI cases are often so complicated and serious, the court will normally schedule two special DWI sessions each month depending on the schedule. If you need to call the court you should contact the court administrator, Melissa A. Murray at (201) 955-7410 or (201) 955-7411.
Major Roadways for DUI Stops in Kearny
We often represent clients who have been pulled over and arrested for DWI on these major highways which include a large amount of State Trooper cases.
– New Jersey Turnpike/ I-95
– Route 280
– Routes 1 & 9
Kearny DUI Defense Attorney
Under the current law in New Jersey, you can be required to install and maintain an ignition interlock device in your car if you are convicted of a DWI or Refusal. On January 15, 2010, the state enacted “Ricci’s Law” under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.16
|Ignition Interlock Regulations in New Jersey|
|First Offense – below 0.15% BAC||Discretionary by court|
|First Offense – 0.15% BAC or higher||Mandatory|
The ignition interlock device must be installed in the vehicle at your expense. The average device can cost $100.00 or more per month. Before you start your vehicle you must blow into the device and if your BAC is 0.05% or higher your car will not start. After starting your car you may be required to re-blow into the device randomly every 20 – 30 minutes thereafter. For more information on the interlock device and other penalties for DUI you can visit our page on DWI offenses. Feel free to contact our Jersey City office at (201) 793-8018 for a free consultation with an experienced DWI defense lawyer if you or someone you know has been charged with a DUI in Kearny.