Jersey City Oxycontin Lawyers
Oxycodone is an extraordinarily common drug. Known most commonly by its shortened street name, “oxy,” it is one of the opioid painkillers at the forefront of the current opioid overdose and addiction epidemic that is sweeping the United States generally and New Jersey in particular. New Jersey state officials have declared the abuse of opioids like oxycontin to be a crisis, forming a new office to address the problem called the New Jersey Coordinator for Addiction Response and Enforcement Strategies. These efforts and intense state focus on the abuse of painkillers and drugs like oxycodone underscores how seriously state and local law enforcement takes oxycontin possession and distribution. In fact, everyday people find themselves facing drug charges for illegal possession of oxycontin without a valid prescription and intent to distribute oxycodone in Hudson County and throughout New Jersey.
When you or a loved one has been arrested for oxycontin, the important thing to do next is learn more about the specific charges and penalties you are facing and what you can do to avoid or minimize the repercussions of being found guilty. Our local Hudson County criminal defense lawyers with offices in Jersey City, concentrate our entire practice on defending clients charged with prescription painkillers, controlled substances, and other crimes in Hoboken, Jersey City, North Bergen, Secaucus, Kearny, Weehawken, Harrison and surrounding communities. Contact us at (201) 793-8018 for a free consultation 24/7 to discuss your situation and get answers.
Oxycodone Possession Charges in New Jersey
Possession of oxycodone is a felony-level offense in New Jersey, even if you possess just one, two or three pills. Specifically, you can be charged with a disorderly persons offense for possessing up to four dosages (whether in pills or other units of dosage) of oxycodone without a valid prescription from a licensed doctor. Upon conviction, you can be sentenced to up to 6 months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. All that for just one to four pills. These consequences should indicate how seriously the state takes possession of oxycodone. Things get much worse if you possess even just a few more doses of oxycontin without a valid prescription. If you are found in possession of five or more pills or units, you face a fourth degree criminal charge. If you are convicted of this fourth degree crime, you may be sentenced to serve up to 18 months in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.
Intent to Distribute Oxycontin & Distribution in NJ
The situation becomes worse if law enforcement officers suspect that you intended to distribute or sell oxycontin to others. If police can prove that you intended to distribute or “deal” the oxycodone pills that they find in your possession, you can face even more serious charges. If you possess between 1 and four Oxycodone pills, and police establish intent to distribute, you may be charged with a fourth degree indictable offense that carries potential penalties including 18 months in prison and $10,000 in fines. If you possess with intent to distribute between 5 and 99 pills or doses of oxycontin, you can face a third degree criminal charge carrying 3-5 years in prison and as much as $200,000 in fines. And if you are found in possession with intent to distribute 100 or more pills or units, you can be convicted of a second degree crime carrying up to 10 years of jail time and $300,000 in fines.
Opioid Related New Jersey Criminal Charges
There are a host of other charges you can face for illegal conduct involving oxycontin and similar painkillers in New Jersey. For example, if you keep oxycodone outside of its original pill or pharmaceutical container, you can be charged with a disorderly persons offense subjecting you to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000 upon conviction. You can also be charged with a crime for obtaining oxycodone or another controlled dangerous substance by fraud. If you use a prescription written for another person, forge a prescription for oxycodone, or use a stolen prescription form or pad to obtain oxycodone, you may commonly be charged with a third degree crime with serious penalties including up to 5 years of incarceration.
Arrested for Oxycontin in Hudson County? Consult an Experienced Lawyer Now
If charged with oxycontin anywhere in New Jersey, these penalties are exceedingly severe, and you may face a number of other consequences outside of jail time and fines if you are convicted. For instance, you can also face the loss of your driver’s license, difficulty obtaining employment and public benefits, and certain felony level convictions can interfere with your ability to own firearms or vote. If you have been charged with an oxycodone/oxycontin related crime in Hudson County, NJ, contact our experienced Jersey City criminal defense lawyers without delay. We are reachable day or night by contacting us online or calling (201) 793-8018. Remember, consultations are free and so is the information you need now.