Jersey City Semi-Automatic Weapons Charges after Shooting
On Thursday, a 25-year-old man was arrested in Jersey City and charged with possession of a semi-automatic handgun, possession of heroin and cocaine, resisting arrest, and contempt, along with additional charges.
The arrest came less than 24 hours after a non-fatal shooting occurred in Jersey City, which the suspect is allegedly connected to. The handgun seized from the suspect was one of two weapons recovered by Jersey City Police on Thursday. Jersey City spokeswoman Kimberly Wallace-Scalcione stated that 115 weapons have already been taken off the streets since the beginning of 2018.
In this post, our experienced Hudson County gun lawyers will answer some common questions that clients ask us about guns and related laws in New Jersey. You can also call (201) 793-8018 for a free consultation anytime and find the answers to your specific questions.
What is a semi-automatic weapon?
Sometimes, when people hear the term ‘semi-automatic’ weapon they think of military style assault rifles, when in fact most modern handguns are semi-automatic.
A semi-automatic weapon is a gun that allows repeat shots by pulling the trigger, rather than manually reloading a bullet into the chamber each time the gun is shot. An automatic weapon, on the other hand, allows the user to fire repeated rounds by engaging the trigger and holding it down with constant pressure.
New Jersey has some of the strictest gun laws in the country and prohibits the purchase and transfer of assault weapons and high capacity ammunition magazines. A semi-automatic handgun that can accept a detachable magazine is considered an assault weapon in New Jersey if it is coupled with one of the following features: a magazine that attaches to the outside of the pistol grip; a threaded barrel that can accept a barrel extender, silencer, flash suppressor, or forward handgrip; a weight of 50 ounces or more when unloaded; a shroud that allows the shooter to hold the firearm with the non-trigger hand; and a semi-automatic version of an automatic weapon.
How can I get a permit for a handgun in NJ?
New Jersey requires that individuals obtain a permit to purchase a handgun. To apply for a permit, you must be at least 18 years old and have a good reputation in the community. Permits can be obtained through local police stations by presenting a completed Application for Permit to Purchase a Handgun, a Consent for Mental Health Records Search form, government issued ID, and a list of two references. The reference must be citizens who are personally acquainted with the applicant. Permit applicants must also be fingerprinted.
You may not obtain a permit to purchase a handgun if you have been convicted of a crime, are dependent on a controlled dangerous substance, are confined or have been confined in the past in an institution for a mental disorder, are an alcoholic, suffer from a physical condition or disease that makes it unsafe for you to handle a firearm, knowingly provide false information on your permit application for a handgun, refuse to waive confidentiality rights related to institutional confinement, or if issuing a permit to purchase a handgun to you would not be in the public interest, safety, and welfare as determined during the application process. Notably, you have the right to appeal a firearms permit denial if you are refused a permit to purchase or carry a firearm in NJ.
Gun Lawyers in Hudson County, NJ
If you have been charged with unlawful possession of a firearm, are facing another gun charge, or are considering purchasing a handgun in New Jersey, our experienced Jersey City gun lawyers can help. We aggressively fight for clients charged with gun offenses and are available to help guide you through the process of obtaining a gun permit in NJ. We provide defense for weapons charges in Jersey City, Bayonne, Hoboken, Union City, Hudson County, and throughout New Jersey on a regular basis, so contact the law offices of Proetta & Oliver right away to review your case and help defend your rights. We provide consultations free of charge. You can get a consultation about your gun case 24/7 by calling (201) 793-8018 or sending us a message today.